Religion Resources

Search #1

If you'd like to find items related to a particular passage, try this method:

• Access the database by clicking on the 'ATLA Religion Database' link in the box above.
• Click on the 'Indexes' link near the top of the page.

• Select 'Scripture Citation' from the 'Browse an Index' drop-down menu.
• In the 'Browse' for box, type in the book name and chapter of the scripture passage you’re studying. If there is more than one book, type in the name of the book followed by a comma and '1st, '2nd,' or '3rd' (i.e. for I Corinthians, simply type in 'Corinthians, 1st').

• Click the 'Browse' button.
• In the resulting list, put a check mark next to relevant items and then click othe 'Add' button. You'll see your selections in the search box near the top of the page.

NOTE: Be sure to click 'Add' for each page before moving on to the next page of results (by clicking the 'Next' link).

• Once you’ve added all your scripture passages to the search box, go ahead and click the 'Search' button to see your list of results. All of the items in your results list will have something to do with one or more of the scripture passages you selected.

Search #2

If you'd like to look for a particular term or topic (rather than a particular passage) within one or more books, try this method:

• Follow the first three steps from Search #1.
• In the 'Browse' for box, type in the book name only of the book you're interested in searching. If there is more than one book, type in the name of the book followed by a comma and '1st, '2nd,' or '3rd' (i.e. for I Corinthians, simply type in 'Corinthians, 1st').

• Click the 'Browse' button.
• Put a checkmark next to the very first entry for the book - it will have a large record count in comparison with all of the more specific verses.
• Click the 'Add' button to put the entry in the search box, and then click the 'Search' button.

NOTE:  If you would like to search across several books, repeat the above steps until you have added all the books to the search box - then click the 'Search' button.

• After clicking 'Search,' you will get a results list for your selection, as well as extra search boxes. You will see information entered in the first search box - don't change this in any way.
• Go to the second box, and enter in one or two terms of interest. Leave the drop-down menu selection to the right on 'Select a Field.'

• Click the 'Search' button. Your results list will then be narrowed down to only those items are relevant to the scripture and that contain the term(s) you entered. This is a good way to search entire books for particular concepts, people, places, etc.

Atla Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. The database includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, more than 530,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 130 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.