LibGuides: Genocide in 20th Century: The Khmer Rouge

In Print

The Pol Pot Regime by Ben Kiernan The Khmer Rouge revolution turned Cambodia into killing fields, as the Pol Pot regime murdered or starved to death a million and a half of Cambodia's eight million inhabitants. This book - a comprehensive study of the Pol Pot regime - describes the violent origins, social context and course of the revolution, providing an answer to the question of why a group of Cambodian intellectuals imposed genocide on their own country.
Call Number: DS 554.8 K584 1996
ISBN: 0300061137

Digital Resources

Cambodian Genocide Program Since 1994, the award-winning Cambodian Genocide Program, a project of the Genocide Studies Program at Yale University’s MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies, has been studying these events to learn as much as possible about the tragedy, and to help determine who was responsible for the crimes of the Pol Pot regime. This Resource includes: Publications Background Photography Database Tribunal Information Searchable Databases
Cambodian Tribunal Monitor Cambodia Tribunal Monitor is a consortium of academic, philanthropic, and non-profit organizations committed to providing public access to the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia and open discussion throughout the judicial process. This resource includes: Trial Commentary Background Information Interviews Op Eds Additional Resources
The Digital Archives of Cambodian Holocaust Survivors The Digital Archives of Cambodian Holocaust Survivors is an hoc group inspired by the reach of the web to create a digital archive that is accessible to all and acts to preserve and protect the memories of the Cambodian Genocide. This resource includes: Background Information Primary Source Photos Survivor Stories and Eyewitness Testimonies
Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia The Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC) is a special Cambodian court which receives international assistance through the United Nations Assistance to the Khmer Rouge Trials (UNAKRT). The court is also informally known as the Khmer Rouge Tribunal or the Cambodia Tribunal. This Resource includes: Primary Source Court Documents Primary Source UN Documents Video Archives Photos Transcripts
Khmer Legacies Video Histories (KLVH) Hosted on Yale Genocide Studies Vimeo page, this resources contains collections of video interviews from the Khmer Legacies Video Histories (KLVH), a series of interviews with Cambodian survivors compiled by 2007-10 GSP Visiting Fellow, Socheata Poeuv.

Genocide in 20th Century

Research Tools

In Print

Digital Resources

EBSCO Articles