Academic eBook Collection (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
ASCD Education eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThese education eBooks are published by the ASCD (Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development).
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowA great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are. Easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers.
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowEbook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
APA PsycBooksThis link opens in a new windowPsycBooks includes over 38,000 chapters in PDF from over 2,500 books, published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection.
Books from Nease Library
The books listed below are available for checkout with your ENC ID card. You may keep books for 4 weeks at a time. Click on a book title to place a hold on that book.
Christian Counseling Ethics"For the clients who see us in counseling . . . theological purity will make little difference if we do not practice with ethical integrity."Randolph K. Sanders, from chapter oneThe work of psychotherapy and counseling is full of ethical challenges and dilemmas. Responding to these situations with wisdom is critical, not only for the professional's credibility, but also for good therapeutic relationships and positive treatment outcomes. Since its first publication, Christian Counseling Ethics has become a standard reference work for Christian psychologists, counselors and pastors and a key text at Christian universities and seminaries. This thoroughly revised edition retains core material on counseling ethics that has made it so valuable in a variety of settings. Now fully updated, it weighs and assesses new and emerging ethical issues in the field. For example, the current volume explores ethical issues involved in:multiple relationshipsconfidentialitydocumentationtherapist competence and characteraddressing spiritual and value issues in therapyteletherapyindividual and couples therapycounseling with minorspsychological first aid after disasterscounseling crossculturallyIn addition, the book considers dilemmas Christian therapists face in specific settings such as:church-based counseling centersgovernment and military institutionsmissions organizationscollege counseling centersPsychologist Randolph Sanders has assembled a distinguished team of clinicians and academicians to address the issues. They include W. Brad Johnson, Alan Tjeltveit, Everett Worthington, Sally Schwer Canning, Siang-Yang Tan, Tamara Anderson, Stanton Jones, Jennifer Ripley, Angela Sabates, Mark Yarhouse, Richard Butman and Cynthia Eriksson.
Call Number: BV 4012.2 C516 2013
Counseling Couples in Conflict by Mark A. Yarhouse; James N. SellsMost therapeutic approaches, especially those of a cognitive orientation, are not very effective in dealing with high conflict relationships--couples often heading toward divorce by the time they seek help. Counseling Couples in Conflict is a resource for pastors and counselors who want to be ready for these uniquely difficult cases. Utilizing a relational conflict and restoration model Mark Yarhouse and James Sells point the way beyond the cycle of pain towards marital healing.
Call Number: BV 4012.27 S46 2011
Counseling the Hard Cases by Stuart Scott (Editor); Heath Lambert (Editor)Biblical counselors have worked for decades to demonstrate that God's resources in Scripture are sufficient to help people with their counseling-related problems. In Counseling the Hard Cases, editors Stuart Scott and Heath Lambert use the true stories of real patients to show how the truths of God's Word can be released to bring help, hope, and healing into the lives of those who struggle with some of the most difficult psychiatric diagnoses. From pastors and academics to physicians and psychiatrists, a world-class team of contributing counselors share accounts of Scripture having helped overcome bipolar, dissociative identity, and obsessive compulsive disorders, postpartum depression, panic attacks, addiction, issues from childhood sexual abuse, homosexuality, and more. The book also shows how the graces of Christ, as revealed in the Bible, brought powerful spiritual change to the lives of such people who seemed previously burdened beyond hope by mental and emotional roadblocks. Contributors include John Babler, Ph.D., Kevin Carson, D.Min., Laura Hendrickson, M.D., Garrett Higbee, Psy.D., Robert Jones, D.Min., Martha Peace, RN, Steve Viars, D.Min., and Dan Wickert, M.D.
Call Number: BV 4012.2 C665 2015
Couple and Family Therapy by Jay L. LeBowWhen selecting treatment for their clients, couple and family therapists are faced with a bewildering array of competing models. On closer inspection, the most effective of these approaches share common elements. This book looks beyond single models of treatment and instead presents an integrative model of couple and family therapy. In describing how the field has evolved over the years, Jay Lebow articulates a core set of principles from which therapists can shape their own best methods of practice.
Call Number: RC 488.5 L423 2014
Creating ConnectionRelational-Cultural Theory (RCT) posits that people grow through and toward relationship throughout the lifespan. Rather than emphasizing movement toward autonomy and self-sufficiency, it focuses on the power of connection in people's lives. Culture and power are seen as formative in individual and social development. As a model, RCT is ideal for work with couples: it encourages active participation in relationships, fosters the well-being of everyone involved, and provides guidelines for working with disconnections and building relational resilience. Creating Connection helps readers to understand the pain of disconnection and to use RCT to heal relationships in a variety of settings, including with heterosexual couples, stepparents, lesbian and gay couples, and mixed race couples. In addition to an emphasis on helping couples find authentic connection, RCT points to the need for changing the cultural conditions that contribute to the problems of disconnection. Polarities of "you vs. me" will be replaced with the healing concept of "us."
Call Number: RC 488.5 C74 2013
Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, Updated by S. Allen Wilcoxon; Theodore P. Remley; Samuel T. GladdingA best-selling text rich in case studies that reflects on the unique complexities of marriage, couples, and family counseling. Now updated to reflect the new Ethical Code - An examination of the 2012 Code of Ethics of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy. Developed for students, educators, supervisors, and practitioners alike, this text examines the significant classical and contemporary issues in marriage and family therapy. The text opens with a thoughtful discussion of client and therapist worldviews, value sensitive care, the ecology of therapy, and commonalities between personal and professional acculturation. Following the book's preliminary discussion, the text moves on to consider the legal, ethical, and professional issues that marriage and family therapists face each day as well as the best strategies for navigating these issues. The updated Fifth Edition includes a number of new topics, including multicultural issues reflecting institutional oppression; boundary, competency, and liability concerns associated with technology-based client care; the significance of supervision in both skill acquisition and professional acculturation in one's early career; nontraditional family care; conflicts between legal and ethical obligations; emerging issues in MFT licensure; and ethical and empirical considerations related to evidence-based care.
Call Number: RC 488.5 W55 2013
Evidence-Based Practices for Christian Counseling and PsychotherapyAre Christian treatments as effective as secular treatments? What is the evidence to support its success?Christians engaged in the fields of psychology, psychotherapy and counseling are living in a unique moment. Over the last couple decades, these fields have grown more and more open to religious belief and religion-accommodative therapies. At the same time, Christian counselors and psychotherapists encounter pressure (for example, from insurance companies) to demonstrate that their accommodative therapies are as beneficial as secular therapies. This raises the need for evidence to support Christian practices and treatments.The essays gathered in this volume explore evidence-based Christian treatments, practices, factors and principles. The authors mine the relevant research and literature to update practicing psychotherapists, clinical researchers, students, teachers and educated laypersons about the efficacy of certain Christian-accommodative therapies. Topics covered in the book include:devotional meditationcognitive-behavior therapypsychodynamic and process-experiential therapiescouples, marriage and family therapygroup interventionThe book concludes with a review of the evidence for the various treatments discussed in the chapters, a guide for conducting clinical trials that is essential reading for current or aspiring researchers, and reflections by the editors about the future of evidence-based Christian practices. As the editors say, "more research is necessary." To that end, this volume is a major contribution to a field of inquiry that, while still in its infancy, promises to have enormous implications for future work in Christian counseling and psychotherapy.
Call Number: BV 4012.2 E95 2013
Research and Evaluation in Counseling by Bradley ErfordRecognizing that the profession of counseling has entered the age of accountability, Erford worked with several colleagues in the field to develop Research and Evaluation in Counseling. As counselor-educators and counselors themselves, the author team knows that the more informed counselors are about research and evaluation procedures, the more effective and efficient their treatment of clients and students can be. Organized into four topical sections, this text addresses the curricular assessment requirements of the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), providing the latest information on research, statistics, and evaluation procedures.