LibGuides: Philosophy Resources: Step 1: Get to Know Your Topic

Research Tools

Find Article Databases Use the right database to find articles for your research. With this list, you can sort by subject or type.
Find Books
Citation Help
Grammarly
- This link opens in a new window
ZoteroBib "... a free service that helps you quickly create a bibliography in any citation style."
Commonwealth Catalog Find books and other materials in multiple Massachusetts library catalogs with a single search.
- This link opens in a new window

Publication Finder This link opens in a new window Find which databases have the full text of sources you need!

Canvas ENC's Learning Management System (LMS)
- This link opens in a new window

Getting To Know Your Topic

Reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias--provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.

Explore Philosophy Concepts

Recommended Web Resources

There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find information about Philosophy. Hover your mouse over the links to find out what they contain. Have fun exploring!

Dictionary of the Philosophy of Mind
From the University of Waterloo, this dictionary is a comprehensive free resource for those interested in philosophy of mind.
EpistemeLinks
The main page was taken down in 2011, but the page as it is currently constructed still provides selected links to some outstanding resources for philosophy.
International Center for Information Ethics
Academic website on information ethics that provides a platform for exchanging information about worldwide teaching and research in the field.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The present staff of 25 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from the United States, Great Britain, and Australia. The submission and review process of articles is the same as that for printed philosophy journals, books and reference works.
Philosophy Bites
Podcasts of top philosophers interviewed on bite-sized topics.
Philosophy Pages
This site offers helpful information for students of the Western philosophical tradition including a dictionary of philosophical terms and names, a survey of the history of Western Philosophy, a timeline for the intellectual figures discussed here and detailed discussions of several major Philosophers.
Philosophy Research Base
Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public so that this dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.
TPM Online: The Philosophers' Magazine
TPM Online, featuring the best in interactive philosophy, is one of the websites of the international philosophy magazine, TPM: The Philosophers' Magazine.